Crash Tests

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Jörg Zürn was honored for his valuable contributions to increasing the safety of commercial vehicles with the “European Safety Award for Commercial Vehicles.” The award was presented as part of the DEKRA Commercial Vehicle Outlook Conference in Berlin.

European Safety Award 2015


Joint Award Ceremony Held by DVR, EVU and DEKRA

From right: Clemens Klinke (Head of Board of DEKRA SE), Prof. Dr. Jörg Zürn (Head of Van Development, Mercedes-Benz), Ute Hammer (Managing Director of the German Road Traffic Safety Council DVR), Matthias Wissmann (President of the German Automotive Industry) and Prof. Dr. Christian von Glasner (EVU)

“Jörg Zürn receives the honor for his excellent engineering services in the field of commercial vehicle development, which have in particular contributed to a significant increase in active and passive safety in road traffic,” said Prof. Egon Christian von Glasner, president of the European Association for Accident Research and Analysis (EVU), in his congratulatory speech.
This year, the award was presented for the 25th time by the German Road Safety Council (DVR), the European Association for Accident Research and Analysis (EVU) and DEKRA for outstanding technical innovation or as a lifetime
achievement award to individuals who have distinguished themselves in the furtherance of commercial vehicle safety.
Jörg Zürn studied at the University of Stuttgart and at George Washington University in Washington, D.C., USA, and completed his PhD at the Technische Universität Berlin.

After joining Daimler AG as a materials engineer in 1984, he was actively involved in setting up the research center in Ulm. After various other management roles, Jörg Zürn became the head of the Commercial Vehicle Transmission Development Center in Stuttgart and played a decisive role in the introduction of automated commercial vehicle transmissions. In 2003, he became a member of the board of Mitsubishi Fuso Truck & Bus Corporation in Tokyo, Japan. From 2005 to 2013, Jörg Zürn was responsible for the development of heavy-duty commercial vehicles and introduced in this period many safety systems for the Actros, Antos and Arocs vehicle platforms. Since 2013, he has been responsible for van development. His main focus in this position is above all to continue to increase the safety of the Citan, Vito, V-Class and Sprinter vehicle models. In 2014, Jörg Zürn was appointed an honorary professor of the Universität Karlsruhe. Clemens Klinke, member of the Management Board of DEKRA SE and responsible for the Automotive business unit, declared during the award ceremony: “Enormous progress has in particular been made in the commercial vehicle area in recent decades with regard to road safety. This is impressively demonstrated by the accident statistics; Jörg Zürn, whom we are honoring with this award, has with his work significantly contributed to this.”

Ute Hammer, managing director of the German Road Safety Council (DVR), praised Jörg Zürn’s achievements with the words, “The introduction of active and passive safety systems has in the past made an important contribution to significantly reducing accidents and will also in the future contribute to making our roads a safer place. Prof. Zürn has played a huge part in this, fully in line with our Vision Zero safety strategy.

The award winners:

1990 Prof. Dr. Pal Strifler (Daimler), Hungary
1991 Prof. Dr. Nikolaus Marx (University of Bremen), Germany
1992 Prof. Ernst Göhring (Daimler), Germany
1993 Prof. Dr. Klaus Langwieder (European Insurances Association), Germany
1994 Prof. Dr. Egon-Christian von Glasner (Daimler), Germany
1995 Prof. Dr. Gyula Köfalvi (Széchenyi István University), Györ, Hungary
1996 Siegfried Werber (DVR), Germany
1997 Prof. Dr. Pál Michelberger (University Budapest, President of FISITA), Hungary
1998 Eric Thoms (Scania), Sweden
1999 Toru Kajiyama (Isuzu), Japan
2000 Richard Hildebrandt (Allied Signal), USA
2001 Paul Oppenheimer MBE (Lucas-Girling), Great Britain
2002 Prof. Dr. Jovan Todorovic (University of Belgrade), Serbia
2003 Bernard Tripier (Bosch), France
2004 Prof. Dr. Sigmar Micke (Bosch), USA
2005 Friedrich-Wilhelm Matzner (Bendiberica), Spain
2006 Dr. Fujio Momiyama (Hino), Japan
2007 Dr. Jürgen Trost (Daimler), Germany
2008 Lennart Svenson (Volvo), Sweden
2009 Prof. Dr. László Palkovics (Knorr), Hungary
2010 Prof. Dr. Hartmut Marwitz (Daimler), Germany
2011 Hidehiko Enomoto (Hino), Japan
2012 Eberhard Hipp (MAN), Germany
2013 Christian Börner (BG Fahrzeuge), Germany
2014 Dr. Erwin Petersen (WABCO), Germany
2015 Prof. Dr. Jörg Zürn (Daimler), Germany